2016 Saltire Society Housing Design Awards shortlist unveiled

The shortlists for all five award categories in this year’s Saltire Society Housing Design Awards have been announced ahead of the annual awards ceremony, which will take place in Edinburgh at the end of this month.

Now in their 79th year, the awards celebrate excellence and achievement in Scottish house building and place-making and are part of a busy programme of special events and awards planned to celebrate the Saltire Society’s 80th anniversary year.

This year’s awards ceremony will take place on Thursday 30 June at the Edinburgh Centre for Carbon Innovation. The event will feature a special ‘Test of Time’ discussion as part of the Saltire Society’s 80th anniversary celebrations as well as marking 2016 as Scotland’s official Year of Innovation, Architecture and Design.

2016 Shortlisted entries:

Ø Multiple Housing Development

  • Ronald McDonald House, Glasgow
  • Sighthill Regeneration, Glasgow
  • Ø Alterations, Renovation and Extensions

    • Blakeburn, Melrose
    • Saltcoats Steading, Gullane, East Lothian
    • Sunken Extension, Edinburgh
    • Solen Vinklar, Edinburgh
    • East Claremont Street, Edinburgh
    • Muckle Roe Chapel, Shetland
    • Ø Single Dwelling New Build

      • Tigh Na Croit, Gorstan, Ross-shire
      • Ø Landscape in Housing

        • Tudsbury Court, Craigmillar
        • Commonwealth Games Athletes Village, Glasgow
        • Blakeburn, Wester Housebyres, Roxburghshire
        • Stoneywood (Part One), Aberdeen
        • Ø Innovation in Housing

          • Panmure, Glasgow
          • Hab Lab
          • Aboyne Grange, Aboyne
          • Anderston Regeneration Phases 4&5, Glasgow
          • The Rings, Cupar
          • Chaired by Jude Barber, Kirsty Wark will join former chairs, Malcolm Fraser and Toby Paterson, to review the history of the awards, discuss which winners have indeed stood the ‘Test of Time’, and explore themes that will inform the future of house building in Scotland.

            The winners in each of the five categories will be announced at the special ceremony as well as the recipient of the coveted Saltire Medal and accompanying £1,500 prize fund.

            The Innovation in Housing award continues to be benefit from financial support from the Scottish Government, with the winner of this category receiving a separate £1,500 cash prize.

            Also to be announced at the event will be the winner of the Saltire Society International Travel Bursary for architecture, created in association with the British Council Scotland as part of a £50,000 ‘Inspiring Scotland’ programme of funding to support emerging new talent across many art and design disciplines in celebration of the Saltire Society’s 80th anniversary.

            Commenting on this year’s Saltire Society Housing Design Awards shortlists, judging panel guest chair Kirsty Wark said: “I am very much looking forward to chairing this year’s Housing Design Awards in such a significant year for the Saltire Society, particularly when 2016 is also the Year of Innovation, Architecture and Design in Scotland. There’s so much creativity in the housing sector in Scotland, such thoughtful forward thinking architecture and design which enhances our cityscapes and landscapes, so that our houses can be a joy to experience, either dwelling in them…or admiring them!”

            Convener of the Saltire Society Housing Design Awards, Jude Barber from Collective Architecture, said: “The standard of shortlisted entries has, as ever, been immeasurably high and we are particularly pleased to welcome Kirsty Wark to the role of Annual Guest Chair. Kirsty is one of Britain’s most experienced television journalists, winning several major awards for her work and we think she will be a terrific addition to this year’s awards ceremony.

            “The Housing Design Awards were established to celebrate Scottish architecture and it is great to have this opportunity to recognise all these brilliant achievements in Scottish house building and place-making.”

            “On behalf of the Saltire Society and the Housing Award Panel, I would like to wish all those shortlisted the very best of luck.”

            Share icon
            Share this article: