All change in the boardroom at Weslo

Chief executive Mike Bruce welcomes new chair Kate Dewar
Chief executive Mike Bruce welcomes new chair Kate Dewar

Weslo Housing Management has announced that long standing chair Professor Peter Robson has stepped down after 12 years with the Bathgate-based registered social landlord.

New chair, Kate Dewar, a practising solicitor, has been on Weslo’s Board for the past three years.

Professor Robson, who remains on Weslo’s Board meantime as a non-executive director, said: “It’s been a real pleasure to lead Weslo over the past few years. It’s been a very challenging time for social housing and I’m proud of the part the company has played and the influence it has had on the housing landscape. Many thanks go to all of the staff who helped us along the way.”

Kate Dewar said: “I’m delighted to be taking over the helm. Having served on the board for three years already I’m familiar with the way the company works and I’m very much looking forward to working with Mike and the rest of the team at a very exciting time in the housing world.”

There was further change too in the Weslo boardroom as Alice Ann Jackson chose to step down at the AGM. She was joined by Andrew Balfour and Eileen Porter who have stepped down to support the company’s new initiatives on the newly formed Tenant Scrutiny Panel.

Chief executive Mike Bruce said: “Although these were planned exits, they do leave us with three vacancies for new Board members right now, so we’ve taken steps to advertise nationally for quality replacement to strengthen our governance and continue to improve upon the great work we started when the company opened for business in 1994.”

Share icon
Share this article: