Geraldine Baird MBE wins 2018 Helen McGregor Award

Geraldine Baird MBE is presented with the Helen McGregor Award by Andrew Robertson

EVH’s Annual Conference at the Fairmont in St Andrews was the setting for the ceremony to announce the winner of this year’s Helen McGregor Award.

The accolade recognises the significant contributions that voluntary management committee members of housing associations, co-operatives and social enterprises make to improve their local communities.

The winner was announced as Geraldine Baird MBE, secretary of Rutherglen and Cambuslang Housing Association.

As one of the Association’s founders, Geraldine has been involved with Rutherglen and Cambuslang for nearly 40 years and chaired the committee for over 30 years. In this time the organisation has grown and flourished under her strong and competent skills.

The judges were particularly impressed with Geraldine’s introduction and continued involvement with a hearing aid maintenance scheme that has not only benefitted tenants of the Association but also the wider Rutherglen and Cambuslang communities as a whole.

The award presenter on the evening was Andrew Robertson, EVH’s first secretary appointed in 1978, which was particularly relevant during EVH’s 40th anniversary year.

The awards ceremony took place with sponsorship assistance from Elderpark Housing Association and support from ng homes.

Share icon
Share this article: