Hjaltland Housing Association hosts AGM and completes new homes in Houlland Lea

Hjlaltland Housing Association recently held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) and celebrated the completion of its new affordable housing project at Houlland Lea in Sandwick.

At the AGM, in the absence of the chair, the vice chair, Colin Nicholson, welcomed members to the meeting and relayed the chair’s report on the year’s operations to the committee for approval.

He said: “At the end of the chairs last report Agnes Tallack expressed our hopes that 2020/2021 would herald a brighter, more positive future for us all. Well… who could have predicted the year that we have just lived through? For many people it has been a time of uncertainty and real financial hardship and Hjaltland staff have been working closely with our tenants to support them through these difficult times.”

Mr Nicholson highlighted the extent the impact Covid-19 has had on the Association and how well both staff and committee members have carried out their responsibilities given the circumstances, further commenting on the continued development projects with the completion of the 27 new flats at King Harald Street, along with the start onsite of the Upper Scalloway and Heathery Park developments.

Mr Nicholson also commented on the excellent achievement of continuing to provide both a planned maintenance and routine repair service, especially with the restrictions in place, and the successful move to the new, bigger premises which also included a complete rebrand for the association.

The vice chair finally finished the report by thanking the Committee, Senior Managers and all staff for the dedicated work & commitment shown over the past 12 months.

Irene Hambleton of RSM UK Audit LLP was then introduced and gave the Association a financial “clean bill of health” and commented on the current strength of the business and its balance sheet.

At the management meeting following the AGM the office bearers were voted in by committee, those were: chair – Agnes Tallack, vice chair – Colin Nicholson and treasurer - Jeff Goddard.

Share icon
Share this article: