Search begins to find best Angus building of the last ten years

Angus Council has issued a call for entries as it launched a region-wide search to find the Building of the Decade in its Angus Design Awards 2018.

The council wants to hear from building owners and designers about new developments, restoration or conversion work that has been completed between 2008 and 2018 and have had a positive impact within their local area..

The awards are a tremendous opportunity to celebrate the very best of building design, development and restoration in Angus over the past decade. It is also hoped that the honours, which will be presented every two years, will inspire and encourage exceptional design quality in future proposals.

This year the awards will focus on buildings or developments that are distinctive, respond well to their location, are safe and pleasant, well-connected and sustainable.

Councillor David Lumgair, convener of the development standards committee, said: “As a council, we have a vision to make Angus a great place to live, work and visit. The quality and design of new development is very important in delivering that vision.

“Good design delivers benefits for everyone in Angus. For residents, it can reduce energy costs, improve health and well-being, enhance safety, engender civic pride and promote social inclusion. The creation of well-designed places where people want to live and to visit can also help to attract further investment in the area.

“In Angus, we have talented designers and developers who recognise the benefits of good design. These awards provide a fantastic opportunity to recognise the exceptional development that has taken place over the last ten years and the positive contribution that has been made to our environment.

“I’m particularly delighted that the awards will allow the public to take part and vote for the overall winner.”

Independent judges will select a single project for commendation within four award categories, specifically:

  • New build: single house
  • New build: all development (excluding single houses)
  • Extension to an existing building
  • Restoration/conversion of an existing building
  • And then it will be over to a public vote to decide the overall winner from the judge’s shortlist. Members of the public will be able to vote for their favourite project via an online poll that will be run by The Courier.

    Award entries can be submitted between 10am on Monday 29 October and not later than 4pm on Friday 30 November. Application forms and guidance are available via the Angus Design Awards dedicated page. Only works completed between 1 November 2008 and 31 October 2018 will be considered.

    Awards and commendations will be presented to development owners and designers at a ceremony to be held in Spring 2019.

    Share icon
    Share this article: