Winners revealed at Scotland Housing Awards 2022

Winners revealed at Scotland Housing Awards 2022

(from left) Alison Ballantyne, Eildon’s vice chair, with 'Outstanding contribution to housing' joint-winner Dave Alexander and Eildon’s chair Cathie Fancy

The winners of the Chartered Institute of Housing’s (CIH) Scotland Housing Awards have been announced at a special ceremony at the Radisson Blu Hotel in Glasgow last night.

The Scotland Housing Awards recognise the creativity, passion and innovation of housing organisations and individuals across the sector. This year’s awards received over 120 nominations across 17 categories, including housing team of the year, excellence in delivering homelessness services, and excellence in the private rented sector.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Excellence in customer service

  • Winner - Customer experience project – West Lothian Council

Excellence in housing innovation

  • Winner - Revive Scotland – Wheatley Group in partnership with Homefinder UK

Working in partnership

  • Winner - Peoplehood – Blackwood Group in partnership with Innovate UK and a consortium of nine industry partners

Excellence in development for affordable housing

  • Winner - Claish Farm, Callendar – Lovell Partnerships in partnership with Rural Stirling Housing Association

Excellence in tenant scrutiny

  • Winner - Working in partnership – Link Housing Association in partnership with Link Tenant Scrutiny Panel

Excellence in delivering homelessness services

  • Winner - Home First – Mature Rapid Rehousing – Perth & Kinross Council

Excellence in the private rented sector

  • Winner - Excellence in Edinburgh - C~urb PSL

Excellence in regeneration and sustainability

  • Winner - Taighean a’ Chaiseil, Isle of Skye - Staffin Community Trust in partnership with Communities Housing Trust and Lochalsh & Skye Housing Association

Housing provider of the year

  • Winner - Kingdom Housing Association

Excellence in health and wellbeing

  • Winner - Blantyre Care: Living with Innovation and Fully, Every Day – South Lanarkshire Health and Social Care Partnership in partnership with South Lanarkshire Housing and Technical Resources and Cruden Builders

Excellence in communications

  • Winner - Communicating Wheatley Group to a global audience – Wheatley Group

Net zero in housing

  • Winner - Blackstoun Oval Retrofit Project - Renfrewshire Council

Apprentice of the year

  • Winner - Fern Barclay – Kingdom Housing Association

Outstanding contribution to housing

  • Winner - Laurie Naumann – Kingdom Housing Association
  • Winner - Dave Alexander - Eildon Housing Association

Excellence in leadership

  • Winner - Frank Sweeney – Cunninghame Housing Association

Housing team of the year

  • Winner - Community Housing Team (West) – Loreburn Housing Association

Young achiever in housing

  • Winner - Eilidh MacDonald – Kingdom Housing Association

All shortlisted entries for the Scotland Housing Awards have also been included in CIH Scotland’s 2022 Good Practice Compendium – a core learning document full of inspiration, ideas, and innovation to help everyone across the sector create a future where everyone has a place to call home.

Commenting on the award winners, CIH Scotland director Callum Chomczuk said: “I would like to extend a huge congratulations to all of our award winners and nominees. The standard of application this year, as in previous years, has been extremely high and is a testament to the great work and innovation happening throughout Scotland’s housing sector every day.

“The Scotland Housing Awards, and the Good Practice Compendium, is one of the most important activities that CIH Scotland undertakes each year and highlights the difference that housing professionals are making across Scotland and the impact of wider public policy objectives that make a difference to all of our lives.”

The Eildon Group said it was absolutely delighted to hear that its recently retired chair, Dave Alexander, was given the accolade of ‘Outstanding Contribution to Housing Winner’.

Nile Istephan, chief executive at Eildon, said: “It is very much deserved after the enormous amount of work he has put in, and given, to the whole housing sector since he started his career in 1974.

“His colleagues at Eildon Group have been hugely grateful for the time he spent as chair, and the knowledge and expertise that he has freely shared for the benefit of the organisation.

“It’s also very fitting that this was a joint win alongside his fellow housing stalwart and friend, Laurie Naumann from Kingdom Housing Association. Congratulations to both.”

Share icon
Share this article: