TPAS Scotland hands out good practice awards at St Andrews gala dinner

tpasTPAS Scotland dished out their National Good Practice Awards, sponsored by Fife Council and supported by the Scottish Government, at a celebration Gala dinner in St Andrews.

The awards ceremony was held at the Fairmont Hotel on Friday during TPAS Scotland’s annual conference.

Almost 400 tenants, staff and Board members from the entire length and breadth of Scotland cheered, applauded and congratulated the winners and runners-up that stretched from Orkney to the Borders.

Calum MacKay, TPAS Scotland’s chairperson, who represents the Cearns Community Association in Stornoway, said: “It was a great night! It’s fantastic that so much great work is going on throughout Scotland. I want to say well done to the winners, runners up and all those that do so much, give so much to improve housing services and communities.”

Here is a full list of those who were celebrating.

Best practice in developing communities’:

  • For a small organisations, winner was Craigdale Housing Association for its work with local children
  • For a medium size landlord, the winner was Prospect HA for Clovie Community Gardens
  • For a larger landlord and community, the winner was Cassiltoun Housing association for its work with the Castlemilk Park Project
  • Best Practice for involving Young People was won by NETRALT (North East Tenants, Residents and Landlords Together) working with local radio’s SHMU FM youth media 16 plus group for creating an innovative opportunity for young tenants to share their real-life stories and take them on the road in their own radio roadshow.

    Best Practice in Equality & Diversity

    The runner up was Trust Housing Association work with ethnic minority older people to improve access to services and benefits and the winner for ensuring residents are able to engage in a way that suits them was South Lanarkshire Council’s Travelling Persons Site Manager at Shawland’s Park, near Larkhall, Roy Overend.

    Best Practice in Digital Involvement

    The first ever winning presentation of the Best Practice in Digital Involvement was made to Thenue Housing Association’s Smart communities Digit Inclusion Project andthe runner up was Riverclyde Homes’ Future Skills Inverclyde. Both projects have had great success in using digital services to enhance “real” lives.

    Best Practice in Involving Customers

    The independent judging team of tenants and professionals awarded the first prize to Best Practice in Involving Customers to Orkney Housing Association Energy Ideas Fund Heat Pump Project forempowering tenants to gain greater understanding and confidence and Hawthorn Housing Cooperative secure runner up spot.

    Best practice in Communicating Landlord’s Performance Information

    Best practice in Communicating Landlord’s Performance Information runner up was East Lothian Housing Association and the winner was West Dunbartonshire Council, whose satisfaction data showed that their tenant’s increasingly felt they are kept informed about services with satisfaction levels rising from 73% in 2014 to 87% in 2016.

    There were 2 winners of the Best practice in Tenant Led Scrutiny of the Charter.

    First winner was Home Scotland Customer Promise Assessors for their customer promise, and it use to carry out scrutiny at neighbourhood level across the country which is reported to their Board and impacts services both locally and nationally. And the second winner was Osprey Group’s Scrutiny Panel whose efforts dramatically improved the landlord’s repair service performance.

    There was a series of 5 Tenant Participation Champion of the Year awards

    1. Group of the Year
    2. Runner up was Haylock Tenants and Residents Association from North Ayrshire Council and the winner was from Kilmarnock, was nominated by Cunninghame HA, it was Longpark Tenants and Residents Association.

      1. Tenant or Resident of the Year
      2. Recognising the commitment, passion and perseverance of individual volunteersrunner up was Ronnie Boyle from Langstane Housing Association in Aberdeen and the winner was Jenny Speck from Greenock who was proposed by Riverclyde Homes

        1. Young Person TP Champion
        2. Was won byAreasha Whitelaw from Fyne Homes because her enthusiasm, skills, desire to learn and experience has inspired tenants and staff alike.

          1. Outstanding Officer of the Year
          2. The runner up was Dyann Weir of West Lothian Council and the winner was Scottish Borders Tenants Organisation’s Alison Notman.

            1. Tenant Participation Champion of the Year for an Organisation
            2. Runner up Aberdeen City Council’s Susan McLeod, Guy Bergman, Cath McLeod, Kevin Kelly, Alana Donald, Norman Adames, Laura McAre, Helen Sherrit, Tom Owens and Carol Hannaford and the winner was Langstane Housing Association’s Support Service Team of Ash Reid, Lisa Cameron, Elaine Whyte and Barry Jarvis.

              Chief Executive, Lesley Baird, said: “Thanks you to all those who submitted their entries. As I said during the ceremony the judges saw loads of great practice but could only reward a few. If it wasn’t you this year, please keeping going, please keep on benefiting communities and individuals, please keep making our judge’s job so difficult. All at TPAS are looking forward to 2017’s fantastic examples of the very best in tenant participation.”

              Share icon
              Share this article: