Four leading housing scholars conferred as Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences

Professor Glen Bramley

Urban studies professor Glen Bramley is among four leading housing scholars to have been conferred the award of Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences following nomination by the Housing Studies Association (HSA).

Bramley, from Heriot-Watt University, joins professors Rebecca Tunstall (University of York), David Clapham (University of Reading) and David Robinson (University of Sheffield) in receiving the award which recognises individuals’ contribution to the use of social science for public benefit.

As a learned society, the HSA is able to nominate candidates to become Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences on a regular basis.

Dr Beth Watts, chair of the HSA, said: “I’m delighted that the Housing Studies Association has been able to successfully nominate these outstanding scholars as Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences. They have each made significant and impactful contributions to housing studies and the wider social sciences.

“What stands out about these four candidates is the extent to which they have combined sustained scholarly contributions to housing studies with active engagement in policy, practice and media debates over several decades. I know I will speak for the Housing Studies Association executive committee and membership in congratulating them on this achievement.”

Previous Fellows nominated by the Association are:

  • Suzanne Fitzpatrick
  • Kenneth Gibb
  • Emeritus Prof. Malcolm Harrison
  • Keith Kirby
  • Duncan Maclennan
  • Chris Paris
  • Susan Smith
  • Mark Stephens
  • Christine M E Whitehead
  • Julia Unwin CBE FAcSS
  • Professor John Flint
  • Share icon
    Share this article: