Winners of CIH Excellence Awards announced

Excellence Awards winnersThe winners of Scotland’s annual awards for excellence in housing were announced on Friday night at an awards dinner sponsored by Utilita at Double Tree by Hilton in Glasgow.

The Team of the Year Award was awarded to North Lanarkshire Council for its Syrian resettlement project, while Campaign of the Year went to the Wheatley Group for its People make Glasgow fairer – lets tackle poverty together. Wheatley Group grabbed a hat-trick of awards including Regeneration and Developing Skills & Capacity.

Apprentice of the Year went to Jamie Edwards of West Lothian Council, while Emma McShane of Linstone Housing Association collected the Bob Allan Young Achiever Award.

The Leadership award was awarded to Morag MacDonald of Melville Housing Association.

Excellence Awards tableAnnie Mauger, executive director, devolved nations at CIH, said: “I was thrilled to see so many examples of excellent work from across the housing sector in Scotland making this year the biggest ever CIH Scotland Excellence awards. Congratulations to all of our winners and to those who were shortlisted for an award. The standard of entries we received this year presented a tough challenge for our judges! In recognition of the hard work and dedication of the housing sector, we would like to invite all of our CIH Excellence winners to join us in a celebration of housing and to mark 100 years of CIH at a special Parliamentary reception in December.”

Other winners included Loreburn Housing Association, Aberdeenshire Council, Cunninghame Housing Association, Glasgow Housing Association, Link Group, Prospect Community Housing, West Whitlawburn Housing Co-op and Stirling Council.

Excellence Awards eventEntries were judged by a panel made up of 40 industry experts including Keith Anderson (Port of Leith Housing Association), John Forster (Forster Group) & Fanchea Kelly (Blackwood).

The evening was hosted by Radio Forth’s Arlene Stuart with entertainment from comedian Des Clarke.

Excellence Awards drinksThe full list of winners of the CIH Excellence Awards are:

Bob Allan Young Achiever Award

Emma McShane, Linstone Housing Association

Skills and Capacity Award

John Wheatley Learning Network, Wheatley Group

Environmental Sustainability Award

West Whitlawburn Community Energy, West Whitlawburn Housing Co-op

Margaret Vass Award

Ann Moore, Prospect Community Housing

The Robina Goodlad Award

Allyson Allison, Stirling Council

Regeneration Award

North Toryglen, Wheatley Group

Apprentice of the Year

Jamie Edwards, West Lothian Council

Exceptional Contribution by a CIH Member

Frank Sweeney Cunninghame Housing Association

Excellence in Scrutiny Award

Link’s Tenant Scrutiny Panel, Link Housing Association

Innovation Award

Syrian new Scot’s Resettlement Project, Aberdeenshire Council

Health and Wellbeing Award

Housing options for older people, Glasgow Housing Association

Leadership Award

Morag MacDonald, Melville Housing Association

Development for Rented Properties

Hallam House, Henderson Close, Loreburn Housing Association

Campaign of the year award

People Make Glasgow Fairer – lets tackle poverty together, Wheatley Group

Team of the Year award

Syrian resettlement project, North Lanarkshire Council

Share icon
Share this article: