Finalists announced in TIS National Excellence Awards 2017

MMB_1836The Tenants Information Service (TIS) has revealed the finalists in the TIS National Excellence Awards: Inspire to Achieve, following an “impressive” response of high quality nominations across all eight award categories.

Held in association with the Scottish Government, the event recognises and honours housing organisations, tenants, residents, and community groups who are leading the way and making a difference throughout the Scottish social housing sector.

Finalists were selected from a longlist of applicants by an independent judging panel that consisted of representatives from organisations including Cunninghame Housing Association, Dundee City Council and the Scottish Government.

TIS chief executive, Ilene Campbell, said: “The exceptional quality of entries really shined through this year. The strength of applications highlight the fantastic developments that organisations are taking to lead the way throughout the sector.”

Finalists from across Scotland make this year’s shortlist a hotly anticipated contest in a bid to receive one of eight prestigious trophies. The award ceremony and Gala Dinner will take place on Saturday 10 June 2017 at the Westerwood Hotel and Resort, Glasgow and will be presented by Glasgow born actress, Libby McArthur.

The event is ticketed and includes a three course Gala Dinner and evening entertainment. Please contact Fawn Russell on or telephone 0141 248 1242 to reserve your place.

The finalists include:

Tenant Participation Excellence Award

  • Aberdeen City Council
  • Link Housing Association
  • West Lothian Council Tenant Participation Team
  • Scrutiny Excellence Award

    • Aberdeen City Council
    • Link Housing Association
    • Perth & Kinross Council
    • Tenant Participation Champion, sponsored by The Scottish Government

      • Charles Tippet, Blackwood Homes & Care
      • Douglas Mutrie, Blackwood Homes & Care
      • Gary Craig, East Ayrshire Council
      • Laura Strang, Glen Oaks Housing Association
      • Most Inspiring Scrutiny Group

        • Aberdeen City Council Housing Service Review Group
        • Castle Rock Edinvar Scrutiny Focus Panel
        • Trust Housing Association Customer Panel
        • Most Inspiring Scrutiny Newcomer

          • Cunninghame Housing Association Scrutiny Group
          • Glen Oaks Housing Association Service Improvement Group
          • Queens Cross Housing Association Resident Task Force
          • Frances Nelson MBE Excellence, sponsored by Dundee City Council

            • Colin Stewart, Castlehill Housing Association
            • Liz Dewar, Letham Residents’ Association
            • Mark Ormiston, East Lothian Tenants & Residents Panel
            • Paul McMenemy, Aberdeen City Council
            • Community Development Excellence, sponsored by the CIH

              • East Ayrshire Tenants and Residents Federation
              • Muirpark Steading View Tenants and Residents Association
              • The Letham Community Hub Project
              • Tenants and Residents Organisation of the Year, sponsored by the International Union of Tenants (IUT)

                • Edinburgh Tenants Federation
                • Longpark and Gladstone Tenants and Residents Association Ltd
                • Tenants and Residents in Muirhouse/Friends of West Pilton
                • Share icon
                  Share this article: