Judges meet to decide 2015 TIS National Excellence Awards winners

Judges 2015TIS has received outstanding nominations for the six categories of the TIS National Excellence Awards, which are held in association with the Scottish Government and sponsored by Dundee City Council.

New this year, the TIS National Excellence Awards are about recognising and celebrating truly outstanding work by those who are making a difference in their community and the housing sector.

There are six categories of awards:

  • Most Inspiring Scrutiny Group
  • Scrutiny Excellence Award
  • Frances Nelson MBE Excellence Award
  • Tenant Participation Champion
  • Community Development Excellence Award
  • Tenants & Residents Organisation of the Year
  • The judging panel met last week to decide the winners of the awards from the high quality nominations received. The judges for the award this year are: Robert Lewis, a member of the TIS Executive Committee; Lindsay Cook, Chapelhall Tenants and Residents Association; Susan McLellan of the Scottish Government; Shelley Hutton of Castle Rock Edinvar Housing Association and David Simpson of Dundee City Council.

    Consensus from judges revealed that they found it a valuable experience and a very worthwhile process to be part of.

    Shelley Hutton, business support manager at Castlerock Edinvar, said: “As a member of the panel I read some fantastic stories showing how participation, in all its forms, can really make a difference to communities and to people and relationships in communities. There were some fantastic entries and there are great ideas and good practice to share. The judging was robust and I’m sure everyone will agree when the winners are announced that we have truly recognised excellence in participation. The good news for the rest of us is that their experiences can be replicated in all parts of Scotland for all types of communities. I’ve certainly got some ideas to share with my Castle Rock Edinvar colleagues.”

    The winners will be revealed at the TIS National Excellence Award Ceremony, hosted by Glasgow born actress Libby McArthur, on the 6th June at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Glasgow.

    The awards ceremony is part of the 2015 TIS Annual Conference. Tickets are available for both the conference and the awards ceremony. If you are interested in attending, please visit www.tis.org.uk, email lblunsden@tis.org.uk or telephone 0141 248 1242.


    Share icon
    Share this article: