Winners announced at TIS National Excellence Awards 2017

MMB_4927The TIS National Excellence Awards 2017 ceremony took place on June 11 and saw tenant and resident groups and landlords come out on top as they scooped the top prizes for their outstanding work and commitment within the Scottish housing sector.

This year, the Tenants Information Service (TIS) received an impressive response and welcomed high-quality nominations across all eight award categories.

Finalists were selected from a longlist of applicants by an independent judging panel that consisted of representatives from organisations including Cunninghame Housing Association, Dundee City Council and the Scottish Government.

TIS chief executive, Ilene Campbell, said: “The exceptional quality of entries really shined through this year. The strength of applications highlighted the fantastic developments that organisations are taking to lead the way throughout the sector.”

Finalists from across Scotland made this year’s shortlist a hotly anticipated contest in a bid to receive one of eight prestigious trophies. The award ceremony and gala dinner took place at the Westerwood Hotel and Resort, Glasgow as part of the TIS Annual Conference 2017, hosted by Scottish born actress, Libby McArthur.

The finalists and winners recognised at the awards ceremony were:

  • Tenant Participation Excellence Award
  • Presenter: Adele Fraser, chief executive, Linstone Housing Association

    Winner: West Lothian Council Tenant Participation Team

    Finalist: Aberdeen City Council

    Finalist: Link Housing Association

    • Scrutiny Excellence Award, sponsored by Hillcrest Housing Association
    • Presenter: Alice Bovill, TIS chairperson

      Winner: Link Housing Association

      Finalist: Aberdeen City Council

      Finalist: Perth & Kinross Council

      • Tenant Participation Champion, sponsored by the Scottish Government
      • Presenter: Ann Marie Stanley, the Scottish Government

        Winner: Douglas Mutrie, Blackwood Homes & Care

        Runner-up: Charles Tippet, Blackwood Homes & Care

        Finalist: Gary Craig, East Ayrshire Council

        Finalist: Laura Strang, Glen Oaks Housing Association

        • Most Inspiring Scrutiny Group
        • Presenter: Ilene Campbell, TIS chief executive

          Winner: Trust Housing Association Customer Panel

          Finalist: Aberdeen City Council Housing Service Review Group

          Finalist: Castle Rock Edinvar Scrutiny Focus Panel

          • Most Inspiring Scrutiny Newcomer
          • Presenter: Elaine Byrne, director, Scotland’s Housing Network

            Winner: Glen Oaks Housing Association Service Improvement Group

            Finalist: Cunninghame Housing Association Scrutiny Group

            Finalist: Queens Cross Housing Association Resident Task Force

            • Frances Nelson MBE Excellence, sponsored by Dundee City Council
            • Presenter: Anne Rendall, Depute Convener of Neighbourhood Services, Dundee City Council

              Winner: Paul McMenemy, Aberdeen City Council

              Runner-up: Liz Dewar, Letham Residents’ Association

              Finalist: Colin Stewart, Castlehill Housing Association

              Finalist: Mark Ormiston, East Lothian Tenants & Residents Panel

              • Community Development Excellence, sponsored by the CIH
              • Presenter: Amanda Britain, Board chair, CIH Scotland

                Winner: Muirpark Steading View Tenants and Residents Association

                Finalist: East Ayrshire Tenants and Residents Federation

                Finalist: The Letham Community Hub Project

                • Tenants and Residents Organisation of the Year, sponsored by the IUT
                • Presenter: Jan Laurier, IUT

                  Winner: Tenants and Residents in Muirhouse/Friends of West Pilton

                  Finalist: Edinburgh Tenants Federation

                  Finalist: Longpark and Gladstone Tenants and Residents Association Ltd

                  Applications for next year’s TIS National Excellence Awards will open in January 2018.

                  Share icon
                  Share this article: