Winners announced at TIS National Excellence Awards

The TIS National Excellence Awards: Inspire to Achieve, in association with the Scottish Government, took place on Saturday 9th June, and saw housing organisations, tenants, residents, and community groups come out on top as they scooped the top prizes for their outstanding work and commitment within the Scottish housing sector.

This year, the Tenants Information Service (TIS) received an impressive response and welcomed high quality nominations across all nine award categories. Finalists were selected from a longlist of applicants by an independent judging panel that consisted of representatives from organisations including Queens Cross Housing Association, Dundee City Council and the Scottish Government.

TIS chief executive, Ilene Campbell, said: “The exceptional quality of entries really shined through this year. The strength of applications highlighted the fantastic developments that organisations are taking to lead the way throughout the sector.”

Finalists from across Scotland made this year’s shortlist a hotly anticipated contest in a bid to receive one of nine prestigious trophies. The award ceremony and Gala Dinner took at the Westerwood Hotel and Resort, Cumbernauld and was hosted by TV and radio presenter, Cat Harvey.

The finalists and winners recognised at the awards ceremony were:

  • NEW in 2018 Best Innovative Practice Award
  • Sponsor: Argyll Community Housing Association

    Presenter: Douglas Prophet, Vice Chairperson, Argyll Community Housing Association

    Winner: Tenant Participation Development Working Group & Tenant Participation Team, West Lothian Council

    Runner-up: Connect4Renfrewshire, Linstone Housing

    • Community Development Excellence Award
    • Sponsor: CIH Scotland

      Presenter: Gary Dalziel, Vice Chairperson, CIH Scotland

      Winner: East Ayrshire Federation of Tenants and Residents

      Finalist: HETRA, East Lothian Mental Health Peer Support Sub-group

      • Frances Nelson MBE Excellence Award
      • Sponsor: Dundee City Council

        Presenter: Anne Rendall, Depute Convener of Neighbourhood Services, Dundee City Council

        Winner: Norma Groves, Aberdeen City Council

        Runner-up: June Anderson, Clackmannanshire Federation of Tenants and Residents

        Finalist: Sam Hewitt, South Lanarkshire Tenants Development Support Project

        Finalist: Steve Byrne, Highland & Argyll & Bute Regional Network of RTOs

        • Most Inspiring Scrutiny Group Award
        • Sponsor: N/A

          Presenter: Alice Bovill, Chairperson, TIS

          Winner: Budget Scrutiny Group, South Lanarkshire Council

          Winner: The Bield Improvement Group, Bield Housing & Care

          Finalist: Housing Service Review Group, Aberdeen City Council

          Finalist: Scrutiny Focus Panel, Castle Rock Edinvar

          • Most Inspiring Scrutiny Newcomer Award
          • Sponsor: Glen Oaks Housing Association

            Presenter: Elaine McShane, Chairperson, Glen Oaks Housing Association

            Winner: Your Voice Scrutiny Group, Argyll Community Housing Association

            Finalist: Customer Scrutiny Group, South Lanarkshire Council

            Finalist: Hanover HEART, Hanover (Scotland) Housing Association

            • Scrutiny Excellence Award
            • Sponsor: Cunninghame Housing Association

              Presenter: Jeanette Strang, Chairperson, Cunninghame Housing Association

              Winner: Tenant Scrutiny Group, East Lothian Council

              Finalist: Housing Service Review Group, Aberdeen City Council

              • Tenant Participation Champion Award
              • Sponsor: The Scottish Government

                Presenter: Susan McLellan, Tenant Participation Manager, The Scottish Government

                Winner: Carol Hannaford, Aberdeen City Council

                Finalist: Margaret Bailie, Linstone Housing

                Finalist: Max Scotto, Kingdom Housing Association

                • Danny Mullen Tenant Participation Excellence Award
                • Sponsor: West Lothian Tenants Housing Network

                  Presenter: Cllr George Paul Executive Councillor for Services to the Community Policy Development and Scrutiny Panel

                  Winner: Aberdeen City Council

                  Finalist: Sheltered Housing Conference Planning Group, South Lanarkshire Council

                  • Tenants and Residents of the Year Award
                  • Sponsor: International Union of Tenants

                    Presenter: Jan Laurier, International Union of Tenants

                    Winner: Rigside and Douglas Water Tenants and Residents Association, South Lanarkshire Council

                    Finalist: Braehead Park Tenants and Residents Association, North Lanarkshire Council

                    Finalist: Dundee Federation of Tenants Associations

                    TIS extended its thanks to this year’s judges, presenters, sponsors, and partners for their support. Applications for next year’s TIS National Excellence Awards will open in January 2019.

                    Share icon
                    Share this article: